To Get Personalised contents and be able to add items to your favourites, please Sign In or Sign Up          

Steer Clear of Osun, IG Warns Thugs, Criminals

News » Politics


As part of the preparations for a free and fair governorship election in Osun State, the acting Inspector-General of Police (IG), Suleiman Abba, yesterday advised political thugs and other mischief makers to steer clear of the state as the security forces deployed to the area would ensure strict compliance with the Electoral Act and other relevant statutes.

The IG also warned politicians and Very Important Person (VIPs) not to move about on the day of the election with uniformed or armed orderlies, just as the use of siren would not be allowed.
Abba, in a statement signed by the Force spokesperson, Frank Mba, Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP), gave these warnings while addressing all stakeholders in the August 9 gubernatorial poll in Osogbo, the Osun State capital.

Present at the meeting were the Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof Attahiru Jega, representatives of the army, Directorate of the State Security (DSS), Federal Road Safety Commission (FRSC) and the Nigerian Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC).

Others were politicians, civil society groups, traditional rulers and representatives of political parties.
At the forum, the IG assured the good people of the state of adequate security that will guarantee level-playing ground for all parties involved, adding that the police and other security and law enforcement agencies would join forces to ensure that the law-abiding citizens of the state feel free and safe to cast their votes without any form of intimidation or harassment.

Meanwhile, the police have commenced extensive security operations in the state, including the deployment of plain cloth detectives and surveillance helicopters for aerial patrols.

Article Credit: Thisdaylive

Updated 4 Years ago

Find Us On Facebook

Tags:     Osun State     Suleiman Abba     Electoral Act     VIPs     ACP     Frank Mba     Prof Attahiru Jega     FRSC     INEC