To Get Personalised contents and be able to add items to your favourites, please Sign In or Sign Up          

Repeat as Aubameyang, Mane, Salah battle for crown CAF Award AGAIN

News » Sports

IMAGE: L-R: Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang »


Tonight promises to be one of intense entertainment, music and drama as the best football stars in Africa are honoured, when the winner of the 2018 African Footballer of the Year is revealed by the Confederation of African Football in Dakar, Senegal. Liverpool forwards Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane, and Arsenal striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, are the three players battling for the top honour, in a repeat of last year’s shortlist.

Egyptian international Salah is the current holder of the award after his goals played a large part in helping Liverpool reaches the Champions League final in 2018. Mane of Senegal last time finished ahead of Gabon’s Aubameyang, who was then with Borussia Dortmund.

This is the fifth straight nomination for Aubameyang, who won in 2015.

Mane, who was third in 2016, is looking to becoming the first Senegalese winner of the trophy since forward El Hadji Diouf took the 2002 award.

Other awards will be given to the best female player in the continent, with Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala and Francisca Ordega in running for the honour.

Article Credit: Vanguard Newspaper

Updated 5 Months ago

Find Us On Facebook

Tags:     Mohamed Salah     Sadio Mane     Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang     CAF Awards