To Get Personalised contents and be able to add items to your favourites, please Sign In or Sign Up          

Nasarawa Assembly Directs Chief Judge to Set up Seven-man Panel

News » Politics


Members of the Nasarawa State House of Assembly who had relocated to Abuja for fear of being attacked by protesters, yesterday returned to Lafia, the state capital, with a directive to the Clerk, Mr. Ego Maikeffi, to mandate the Chief Judge of the state, Justice Umaru Diko, to step up a seven-man committee to probe the state Governor, Umaru Tanko Al-Makura.

Al-Makura of the opposition All Progressives Congress (APC) was served an impeachment notice by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)-dominated assembly sequel to the allegation of gross misconduct and abuse of office levelled against him.

The Speaker of the assembly, Musa Ahmed Mohammed, who presided over the plenary session,  adopted the motion moved by Hon. Godiya Akwashiki (Nasarawa Eggon West) and seconded by Hon. Baba Ibaku representing Udege/Loko constituency.

The sitting started in the early hours of yesterday morning, and  attended by the 20 PDP  members of the assembly, who supported the move.
However, while the motion was being moved by Mr. Tanko Tunga representing Awe North, there was an attempt to snatch the maze  from the Sergeants-at-Arms, but was resisted by Hon. Baba Ibeku  representing Udege/Loko constituency.

Reacting to the directive given by the lawmakers to the Chief Judge to set  up seven-man panel to investigate alleged financial misconduct, the  Senior Special Assistance on Public Affairs to Governor Umaru Tanko Al-Makura, Mr. Abdlahmeed Kwara, said the governor would respond and  complied with the directive according to the  provisions of the law and “once it  is convey to us officially, I am assuring you the government will respond properly and adequately so long as it’s within the rule of law.”

Members of the assembly led by the Speaker last week relocated to Abuja for fear of being attacked by members of their community who are dissatisfied with their action.

Article Credit: Thisdaylive

Updated 4 Years ago

Find Us On Facebook

Tags:     PDP     APC     Nasarawa State House of Assembly     Mr. Ego Maikeffi     Umaru Tanko Al-Makura.