To Get Personalised contents and be able to add items to your favourites, please Sign In or Sign Up          

School of Graduate Studies University of Port Harcourt

Business Directory » Schools » Universities

History of the School

The School was formally established in October 1982 with Professor E. J. Alagoa as the pioneer Dean. From 3 Programmes and 8 Graduands during the 1st Convocation (February 6, 1982) to 44 Programmes in the 24th Convocation with the following impressive graduation statistics: 66 PhDs, 395 Masters and 379 Postgraduate Diplomas (PGD), the Graduate School has come of age.

So far a total of 438 PhDs, 3249 Masters and 2349 PGDs have been graduated among whom are the Vice President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria His Excellency Dr Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, GCON (M.Sc, 1985 and PhD, 1995) and Rt. Hon. Chibuike Rotimi amaechi, the Executive Governor of Rivers State (MA, 2003).

At its 12th Meeting held on Wednesday, 19th July, 1978, Senate considered and approved Paper No. SP 77-78/060 titled "The General Regulations for Graduate Studies". This paved the way for the take-off of graduate training in the 1979/80 academic year. The then School of Humanities and Biological Sciences gave admission to candidates in the programmes of M.A. Comparative Literature and M.Sc. Plant Physiology and Fisheries Biology.
Initially, the graduate programmes were administered by the School (now Faculties) and the Registry. In October 1982, the School of Graduate Studies was formally established with Professor E. J. Alagoa as the first Dean, and it became necessary to streamline the procedures for the operation of graduate programmes. The General Regulations approved by Senate required each Faculty to set up Departmental Graduate Studies Committees to make recommendations regarding all matters concerning graduate programmes to its Faculty Board. Senate also established the "Higher Degrees Committee" (a Committee of the School of Graduate Studies) to "advise Senate on all matters relating to higher degrees".
Further in 1984, the Higher Degrees Committee recommended for the approval of Senate a paper entitled "Proposals for Amendment/Streamlining of the School of Graduate Studies" initiated by the then Dean Professor Francis A. Onofeghara. At its 68th Meeting held on 23rd May, 1984, Senate considered and approved the paper No. SP/83-84/134, which among other things, established the Board of the School of Graduate Studies to replace the Higher Degrees Committee, and a new organizational structure for the School of Graduate Studies with effect from October 1984.

Professor (Mrs.) Roseline S. Konya JP KJW

- Dean, School of Graduate Studies

The Dean of the School of Graduate Studies, Prof. (Mrs.) Roseline S. Konya is a Professor of AnimalProfessor Roseline S. Konya  and Environmental Biology. Professor Konya who was Chairman Rivers State Civil Service Comission, and also Commissioner of Environment and later Commerce and Industry in Rivers State, Nigeria got her Bachelor of Science and Master's Degrees in 1976 and 1977 respectively. She later obtained her Doctorate in Animal Physiology/Toxinology, from Brunel University, Oxbridge, United Kingdom in 1984. She rose to the rank of Professor with effect from December 8, 2003.

She has served many University Boards and Committees, and also lecture both undergraduate and postgraduate students of the university.


Vision and Mission

Our Vision

To be ranked among the best Graduate Schools in Africa, in the provision of quality staff, programmes and facilities and renowned for its teaching, research, innovation and knowledge transfer.

Our Mission

To pursue academic excellence, advancement of knowledge and community service through capability development, promotion of scholarship and policy relevant researches that address the challenges of contemporary society.

Our Objective

To implement Senate Policy and Guidelines for the initiation, consolidation and co-ordination of innovative research, provide quality administrative support for graduate programmes, equip research laboratories in the academic departments and ensure availability of data for national development.

Proposed Graduate School Building: Entrance Lobby and Proposed Graduate School Building: Library


Proposed Graduate School Building: Auditorium and Proposed Graduate School Building: Board Meeting Room

Organizational Structure of the School


While undergraduates have two levels in which matters concerning them are considered before presenting to Senate the graduate student has 3 levels of consideration before presentation is made to Senate. The Board monitors and regulates the programmes in line with the regulation and guidelines approved by Senate.

Academic Programmes

Postgraduate Diploma

Masters Programmes
  • Faculty Of Humanities
PhD Programmes
  • College Of Health Sciences
  • Faculty Of Education
  • Faculty Of Engineering
  • Faculty Of Humanities
  • Faculty Of Management Sciences
  • Faculty Of Science
  • Faculty Of Social Sciences

Admission Requirements 

Post-graduate Diploma Programmes


An applicant should be a graduate of University of Port Harcourt or a graduate from any other University recognized by the Senate of University of Port Harcourt. For Departments admitting candidates with HND background, such candidates must have upper credit. In addition, satisfy the departmental requirements specified in the respective programmes of study.

Master's Degree Programmes

Admission to the Master's degree programme shall be from the University's own B.A., B.Ed., B.Sc. or from any other recognized University. The degree shall normally be not less than second class or equivalent level with a CGPA of 3.00 points. A CGPA of 3.5 is required for those from PGD to Masters. Special departmental requirements are specified in the respective programmes of study. 

Doctor of Philosophy Programmes

Candidates for the Ph.D. programme shall have a Master's degree and should normally have had a minimum CGPA of 3.50 or its equivalent grade. For candidates who obtained their Master's exclusively by research assessment, admission will be based on the quality of their theses. Final selection of candidate will be based on interview performance. Special departmental admission requirements are specified in the relevant programme of study.

Doctor of Medicine/Master of Surgery (M.D./M.S)

Candidates must be either Medical Graduates (MBBS) of the University of Port Harcourt for not less than 5 years or confirmed and experienced academic staff of the University with Medical degree of recognized Universities. Additional admission requirements are specified in the relevant programme of study.

School of Graduate Studies University of Port Harcourt Event Gallary.

The event which started on the 19th of November 2008 featured a Press Conference, Advertorials, SGS Students Association Rally, Novelty Football Match, Exhibition, Alumni Buffet Luncheon, Drama (By The University Arts Theatre), Research Round Table,  Research Colloquium and host of other side attractions.

In attendance were the Vice President, Federal Republic of Nigeria,  His Excellence Dr. Goodluck Jonathan, GCON, the Rivers State Governor Rt. Hon Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi, the Vice Chancellor, University of Port Harcourt, Prof. Don M Baridam  and host of other dignitaries.



 We believe we can achieve these vision/mission with your support and generous donations.




Phone 084-885412, 08079759914
Address University of Port Harcourt, East-West Road, PMB 5636 Port Harcourt, Rivers State, Nigeria


Find Us On Facebook

Tags:     School of Graduate Studies University of Port Harcourt