To Get Personalised contents and be able to add items to your favourites, please Sign In or Sign Up          

Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Business Directory » Agencies / Organizations » Government



        The Ministry is dedicated to the vigorous pursuit of the vital national interests of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the promotion of African integration and Unity, as well as international cooperation for the consolidation of global peace and security.  The Ministry is also committed to the promotion of a just world economic order and democratic values, through the formulation, articulation and implementation of policy objectives that would benefit the people of Nigeria.   



To build and manage the Ministry of  Foreign Ministry around  knowledgeable and committed staff, Missions, and policies that secure the advancement of Nigeria’s national interests in the international arena, and guarantee the dignity of Nigerian citizens, other Africans, as well as foreigners in Nigeria.  The Ministry is also committed to the vision of Nigeria becoming one of the top twenty (20) economies in the world by the year 2020. 

Amb. Olugbenga Ashiru

The Nigerian foreign ministry is a statutory body created to handle the external push of Nigeria's domestic vision and ideals; it is headed by the Foreign Minister of Nigeria. As of late its mission has geared towards increasing awareness about Nigeria's economic potential. It is part of the government'sexecutive branch.

From 1961 to 1965, Jaja Wachuku was the First substantive Nigerian Minister of Foreign Affairs and Commonwealth Relations, later called External Affairs. Before Wachuku's tenure, Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa, the then Prime Minister, doubled as Foreign Affairs advocate of Nigeria from 1960 to 1961 when his government created an official Foreign Affairs and Commonwealth Relations ministerial position in favour of Mr. Wachuku as pioneer Minister.


List of Ministers

  • Jaja Wachuku (1961–1965)
  • Nuhu Bamalli (1965–1966)
  • Yakubu Gowon (1966–1967)
  • Arikpo Okoi (1967–1975)
  • Joseph Nanven Garba (1975–1978)
  • Henry Adefope (1978–1979)
  • Ishaya Audu (1979–1983)
  • Emeka Anyaoku (1983-1983)
  • Ibrahim Gambari (1984–1985)
  • Bolaji Akinyemi (1985–1987)
  • Ike Nwachukwu (1987–1989)
  • Rilwan Lukman (1989–1990)
  • Ike Nwachukwu (1990–1993)
  • Matthew Mbu (1993-1993)
  • Babagana Kingibe (1993–1995)
  • Tom Ikimi (1995–1998)
  • Ignatius Olisemeka (1998–1999)
  • Sule Lamido (1999–2003)
  • Oluyemi Adeniji (2003–2006)
  • Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala (2006-2006)
  • Joy Ogwu (2006–2007)
  • Ojo Maduekwe (2007–2010)
  • Martin Ihoeghian Uhomoibhi (acting) (2010)
  • Henry Odein Ajumogobia (2010–2011)
  • Olugbenga Ashiru (2011–present)

Phone (234) 09-5230204-6, 09-5230570, 09-5230825, 09-6002588, 09-5230490, 09-5230492, 09-5230828,09-5230185-9
Address Maputo Street off Abidjan Street, Wuse Zone 3, P.M.B. 130, Garki, Abuja, Nigeria

Warning: file_get_contents( failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.0 403 Forbidden in /home/content/22/9418022/html/include/page_contact.php on line 43


Find Us On Facebook

Tags:     Federal Government Services     Agencies     Abuja     Nigeria