To Get Personalised contents and be able to add items to your favourites, please Sign In or Sign Up          

Federal Ministry of Petroleum Resources

Business Directory » Agencies / Organizations » Government





The present day Department of Petroleum Resources started as a Hydrocarbon Section of the Ministry of Lagos Affairs in the early fifties. It is the first statutory agency set up to supervise and regulate the petroleum industry in the country. At the time, it reported to the Governor-General. Later, the section was upgraded to a Petroleum Division within the then Ministry of Mines and Power. The Division, in 1970 , became the Department of Petroleum Resources (DPR). In 1971, a new body, called Nigerian National Oil Corporation (NNOC) was created to engage in commercial activities in the petroleum industry with the Department continuing to perform the statutory supervision and control duties in the oil industry.

The Department was in 1975, constituted into the Ministry of Petroleum Resources (MPR) after energy matters were excised and transferred to another arm of Government. Through the proclamation of Decree 33 of 1977, MPR and NNOC were merged to form the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC). This was in a bid to optimise the utilization of the then scarce local manpower resources in the public sector of the industry. The Decree also created the Petroleum Inspectorate as an integral part of the Corporation and granted it a semi-autonomous status, with its Head reporting to the Minister of Petroleum Resources, who also doubled as Chairman of NNPC. The Petroleum Inspectorate continued to regulate the industry but was barred by the Decree from engaging in any commercial transactions or being involved in the commercial decisions of the Corporations.

In 1985, a new Ministry of Petroleum Resources (MPR) was again created, while the Petroleum Inspectorate remained in the Corporation and retained its regulatory functions. On the 23rd of March 1988, with the commercialization of NNPC, the Petroleum Inspectorate was excised from the Corporation, due to the non-commercial nature of its functions, and merged with the new MPR to form its technical arm. The Department has continued to oversee all the activities of companies licensed to engage in any petroleum activity in the country, with the objectivity of ensuring that national goals and aspirations are not thwarted, and that oil companies carry out their operations according to international oil industry standards and practices. It keeps records and other data of the oil industry's operations and informs Government about all activities and occurrences in the petroleum industry.
Minister of Petroleum Resources, Mrs. Diezani Alison-Madueke

Without any prejudice to the foregoing, the Department of Petroleum Resources is vested with the necessary powers by various legal provisions to discharge the following functions and responsibilities:

• supervising all petroleum industry operations being carried out under licences and leases in the country in order to ensure compliance with the applicable laws and regulations in line with good oil producing practices.

• enfocing safety and environmental regulations and ensuring that those operations conform to national and international industry practices and standards.

• keeping and updating records on petroluem industry operations, particularly on matters relating to petroleum reserves, production and exports of crude oil, gas and condensate, licenses and leases as well as rendering regular reports on them to Government.

• advising Government and relevant Agencies on technical matters and policies which may have impact on the administration and control of petroleum.

• processing all applications for licenses so as to ensure compliance with laid-down guidelines before making recommendations to the Honourable Minister of Petroleum Resources.

• ensuring timely and adequate payments of all rents and royalties as at when due.

• Monitors Government Indigenisation policy to ensure that local content philosophy is achievable.





The Department of Petroleum Resources has established seven Zonal Offices which are:


Lagos , Abuja , Port Harcourt , Owerri, Warri, Kaduna and Maiduguri.




There are also thirteen field offices in - Aba , Akure, Enugu , Eket, Gombe, Ibadan , Ilorin , Jos, Kano , Lokoja, Markurdi, Sokoto and Yola.




Staff are also present at all the crude oil terminals nationwide, for the monitoring and supervision of crude oil exports. The Department also maintains its presence at the various depots and jetties.




The Field offices are each supervised by an Operations Controller who coordinates the day to day operations of the offices.


Phone 09-5230763 234-9-5237332
Address 1st & 2nd floor, main building federal secretariat Shehu Shagrari way Abuja Nigeria


Find Us On Facebook

Tags:     Federal Government Services     Agencies     Ministry of Petroleum     Nigeria     Abuja     In